Encouraging, Totally Random, Uncategorized

Dove- Real Beauty Sketches

This is something my youth teacher at church showed me and my high-school girls’ class at church. I wanted to share it:

(There’s also a six-minute video of similar to the one above, but I haven’t watched it.)

What did you think about the video?
If you were describing yourself for the artist in the video, what would you say?
I think I would describe myself in a way that made me seem and feel ugly. Someone else could describe me as a beautiful person.

Most people compare themselves to others, including me. I noticed I’ve been comparing myself to other girls at my church. Why am I doing that? It’s just putting me down. It honestly makes me lose confidence in myself. God made me the way he wanted me to be.
I really don’t need to wish I was like that girl. Then I wouldn’t be special, different from everyone else. I don’t know if you’ve realized this, but other people around you think you’re beautiful and amazing.

Maybe instead of wishing you were pretty like Kim or had an amazing voice like Amy, try to find something in yourself that you admire.

“For who sees anything different in you? What do you have that you did not receive? If then you received it, why do you boast as if you did not receive it?” 1 Corinthians 4:7 ESV

“For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I yet please men, I should not be the servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10 KJV

(Something I found online that’s good to read about comparing yourselves to others here.)

~ Crystal

I do not own this video. All rights and ownership belongs to Dove™. I am not endorsing the company/brand.

3 thoughts on “Dove- Real Beauty Sketches”

Leave a Reply

