Goals/assessments, Uncategorized

March and April Roundup + May Goals

March and April were the distraught months of the year! As most of you know, I moved. Plus, I’ve been sick every month of the year so far. Guess what?

*

*

I’m sick again… It’s getting a little old. πŸ˜›

I wasn’t able to post my March Assessment and I needed to do April’s, so I’m cramming a lot into one post!

I decided that I’m going to show what books I read in every month in the assessment posts, but since I missed to months…. I’m going to list books for both. πŸ™‚

And if anyone is interested, you can check out my Goodreads Reading Challenge here.Β  I have my account set to private, so you will have to add me to check it out. (Don’t worry about it if you are already friends with me.)

EDIT: I realized I accidentally put the wrong rating next to a few books, so I fixed it. That’s what I get for posting this late at night. πŸ˜›

I read a few other books, but chose not to list them. Thank goodness. Smile. πŸ™‚

So, overall, I read 75 books the past two months.

The Doppelganger: Book One – Steve’s Chance by Mark Mulle

3 Stars – This was an okay book, but I remember feeling a little bored while reading it. It had excitement at times, but it wasn’t particularly a favorite of mine. I like most books by this author though. πŸ™‚


Pulse (Pulse Effex #1) by L.R Burkard

5 Stars – This book… I just can’t put it into words! I really loved it! It’s a post apocalyptic story.. and I really don’t know what to say without spoiling the book! The beginning of my review from Goodreads: “Wow… just wow! I barely have any words to explain how I feel right now! I was instantly interested in the book as I read the first sentence…This book is very thought-provoking and a new favorite!
I actually enjoyed reading this book, even though it’s written in first person and switching between people…”

If you’re interested, my review for Pulse CONTAINS SPOILERS, CLICK THIS >LINK< IF YOU DARE… BOO. :0


Trapped Beyond the Magic Attic by Sheri Cooper Sinykin

2 Stars – Bluntly speaking, I didn’t enjoy the book. It was okay at the beginning, but very predictable at the end. Some people were a little surprised I didn’t like the book, but I just didn’t. Rose, a new girl who just moved to the area or something, is a computer whiz and that got me a little excited my dream occupation was computer coding so you get what I mean now. Then I had higher expectations for the book….and yeah. There’s nothing really wrong with it. It’s just not the series for me. I plan to give it a try again at some point, but not for a while.


I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up for Education and Changed the World (Young Readers Edition) by Malala

3 Stars – This was a great inspirational book, but it had some references to the Quran…. which I did expect due to Malala being Muslim or something. I really don’t remember what religion it was and I don’t see the need to google it. πŸ˜›
It could be a little scary for some readers, since it does talk about her getting shot and being at the hospital…. and that stuff. But it’s a true story. And wake up, that’s the real world. πŸ˜₯


The Haunted Gargoyle (Clue #12) by A.E Parker

2 Stars – I can’t say I remember too much about this book… what I do remember is the characters murdering each other. Seriously. πŸ˜› It’s one of those who-dun-nit books that you have to figure out who did it… And honestly, I just read the answer key. I have no patience for that, apparently. πŸ˜‰


Another thing…if anyone stalks me on Goodreads, you possibly could’ve noticed I listed a gajillion children’s books as read. Well, as a result of moving, I had no choice. I really wanted to keep all of my childhood books, but couldn’t take most of them. So I read so many in one day! Plus, I wanted to remember them so I could get them again if I wanted. I only listed my favorites on here for March. Smile. The list would’ve been long. SMILE! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Smuggler’s Run – A Han Solo & Chewbacca Adventure by Greg Rucka

5 Stars – I really loved this book! ghtkhlxgkjlj What to say without spoiling? It was quite exciting and had tons of action in it! My favorite part was the beginning, when Han and Leia were arguing. I guess I like it since Han and Leia are lovers…. lol. πŸ™‚


Zane, Ninja of Ice by Greg Farshtey

5 stars – This book was aimed at a younger audience, but it very interesting. I did not expect Zane to even consider helping Garmadon… but it was awesome! This is probably one of the best Ninjago books I’ve read ever! I suppose if you haven’t seen the TV series, it could be a little confusing with the Golden Weapons and all.


Tallstar’s Revenge by Erin Hunter

5 stars – A great, 500 page read! It had some sad parts, including a few deaths if I remember correctly. The moral of this story (cliche I know πŸ˜› ): do not get revenge and do the right thing.

75b98ab170e73d52717eaca992b282a2

Credit for Indiana Jones: Let it Go 1

tumblr_liqcyupgac1qi9q4ko1_500

Credit for Indiana Jones: Let it Go 2

tumblr_oa9d26cgrr1tpafe6o1_500

Credit for “Let it Gooooo”

c3e49ou

Credit for LET ME LOVE YOU!

You love it. I hope so. #udobecauseicommanduto #didufigurethatout #probablynotormaybeidk
I would’ve added a slideshow instead, but I needed to credit the sources for the images I googled. Please don’t click the links… you never know what’s there. I haven’t checked them myself…

I have this whole Frozen theory based on Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. I BET DISNEY GOT THE IDEA FROM INDIANA JONES! IT MAKES SENSE. BELIEVE ME. Elsa, the German spy, was told to just “Let it go” by Indiana. He should have a song. πŸ˜› Maybe the WHOLE Frozen movie should’ve been based on Indiana Jones! Okay, so maybe Let it Go was only a song, but REALLLLLY?! Now, I’m just going a little too far here… who knew I could be so emotional about a kids film? πŸ˜›

59428328
It actually happened, am I right? Elsa is from Indiana Jones!!!

Credit for What if…

…I’m serious, though.

The Weapon of a Jedi – A Luke Skywalker Adventure by Jason Fry

3 stars – Meh. I did not really like it. It was so disappointing. I saved it for last, too. πŸ˜₯
There was a lot of the story about Luke trying to control the Force, etc, etc. But it was not written in an exciting way. The boring way is more like it. I also felt like the author was trying to make it a little too… “spiritual” with Force for my taste. I don’t know how else to put it.


LEGO Ninjago: The New Ninja by Scholastic Inc.

5 stars – A very nice story. I really enjoyed it, since it’s about Nya. And it did mention the thing between her and Jay at the beginning.

But she didn’t want anything to do with him… at least that’s what I gathered. Don’t worry, he’s oblivious for the moment. πŸ˜‰

54a5bcd704b69eacf75ba208150d552f4c0f2fbe

Credit for image

I guess I’m kind of getting into some romance…. πŸ˜›

I loved the short stories at the end by the two winners from the LEGO Message Boards… I’m a little disappointed now though since LEGO removed the message boards off the website so I can’t read the fanfictions by everyone! 😭  😭  😭


A Team Divided by Tracy West

5 stars – I devoured this book really fast! It was cool reading where the ninja were right before TOE. Tournament of Elements. In other words and abbreviations, TOE.


Once upon a Summer (Seasons of the Heart, #1)

5 stars – A very cute story! See my review on Goodreads here. πŸ™‚


Warriors: Omen of the Stars #1-6

4.5 stars – So I basically read the last four books in April. (The first two I read in February). It’s a great series with action, drama, and excitement! The only things to watch out for would be the StarClan nonsense. It’s basically their version of heaven, so it might be a little weird. It doesn’t mention it too often, unless the story is centered around it. In this case, The Omen of the Stars is. If you’re interested in the series, I’d recommend starting with Into the Wild.

I rated the series 4.5 stars altogether. (Four books were rated 5 stars and two were rated 4.)

πŸ™‚


Previous Posts:

March:

The Blue Sky Tag

Before the Move – Part 1

Before the Move – Part 2

April:

Before the Move – Part 3

This is it.

Bring out the Cake and Ice Cream..


Most popular posts:

I had re-blogged some from other blogs, so I’m only including my original posts. πŸ™‚

March:

White Clouds on Sky Backdrop

The Blue Sky Tag

And April’s was…

IMG_5332

Before the Move – Part 3


The time to test myself has arrived…..

1. CAFC – Crystal’s Adventures for Christ

i. General posts

Of course, I want quality and love put into each post, but the lack of them in the past two months has just been sad. This is something I’m going to attempt to do.Β  You’ll have some stuff to look forward to, I hope. Why are you reading this then? πŸ™‚

Book reviews

I’ve literally only posted one book review the whole time I’ve had this blog and it makes me a little disappointed in myself. But perhaps this is the month I’ll decide whether I will continue trying to do so. I do have at least one book review that I plan to do soon enough after I read the book, but it’s not being posted anytime soon.

Post some photos

Photography is a hobby I enjoy, but I haven’t done it much lately. I want to actually get around to doing it again and take some nice pictures. I want to post them on CAFC…. if they’re worthy of it. πŸ˜‰

I do still have the pictures from the move to post, so expect to see those up at some point.

And while I’m on the topic of photos, I decided that I want to post less GIFS and Memes in my posts. I want everything to be original and finding random images off of Google doesn’t help… but I’m finally remembering that I need to credit. What took so long? :/ (I can’t guarantee that I’ll stop, though, so just be prepared.)

I’m so immature (yet mature :P) that I post LEGO images and there’s no need for that for all of my posts…. even though I really enjoy it. Yes, I have issues.

ii. Edit the blog a little bit

If anyone remembers, I had mentioned that I was going to change the blog a bit. I really never got around to that. But I will now. I really need some change for CAFC… so be prepared.

2. My activity

Goodreads

I’ve been extremely active the last few days, but I want to make sure I’m online enough. A goal for this month is to be online every few days, if anything.

WordPress

I have been reading some posts, but I’ve have barely been active and commenting on posts. I need to get back into the swing of things. Goal for this month is read all the posts I missed and stay caught up.

3. Hobbies

Actually write something

I’m in a slump and I have not really been wanting to write lately. The time has come to try to force myself. Okay, maybe I doubt I’ll actually do it, but at least I’ll try. I do have some ideas to think about…

Reading

Reading is the key to most of your life on Earth, as everyone says. Actually it’s just me who thought that up right now. πŸ˜›

Anyway I need to read more. Some books I’m going to try reading this month (and possibly get from the library):

The Last Jedi by Michael Reeves and Maya Kathryn Bohnhoff, When Tomorrow Comes by Janette Oke, The Winds of Autumn by Janette Oke, Breaking Away (Rabylon #1) by Cory Groshek, The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud by Jenny L. Cote, and Anne: The Green Gables Complete Collection (Anne of Green Gables #1-8 + chronicles) by L.M. Montgomery.

Books I know for sure I’m going to read:

The Secret Slipper by Amanda Tero, Befriending the Beast by Amanda Tero, Warriors: Dawn of the Clans, books 1-3 by Erin Hunter, and Veiled Rose (Tales of Goldstone Wood, #2) by Anne Elisabeth Stengl.

Decrease video-game time

I’ve been doing well, but I still want to be more useful with my life. Staring at a screen, obsessed, ain’t gonna do that. I haven’t played for three days so far…. let’s keep it up.


One last thing…. visit Cover to Cover and Everything in Between, specifically this post: Interview with Jen Turano ~ Plus a Giveaway.

The blog owner is having a….. GIVEAWAY! I WILL WIN. I HAS TO WIN. WE WANTS TO WIN. DO YOU WANTS TO WIN? THEN ENTER, BUT I WILLS WIN. OR I CRY. πŸ˜‰

There is only two days left, so enter before it’s over! Or don’t… sacrificing an entry or two will give me a better chance to win! Not that I want to win or anything. πŸ™‚

~ Crystal

8 thoughts on “March and April Roundup + May Goals”

  1. WOW! That was a LOONGGG post, but (strike-through) BE PROUD OF ME!!!(strike-through over πŸ˜› ) I READ IT ALL!!! Got some great goals!
    And BTW, I’m hoping to (try) to start teaching you piano tomorrow… if you’re not too sick…are you that sick?? I didn’t know you were, I just thought (your oldest brother) was. It was kinda funny when we heard that he was sick, because (remember?!?) he said that since he had an M in his name he was immune to any sickness! xD But I am sorry you’re sick. 😦 I really hope you’re not too sick! πŸ™‚ Just wanted to clarify (about piano)… I haven’t actually talked to you about it, but I did ask your mom… πŸ˜› ADIOS!! (because I randomly wanted to speak Spanish)

    (BTW, that comment was meant to make you smile… hope it worked. It probably didn’t. You probably didn’t even read the whole stupid thing. BYE FOR REAL NOW!!! xD)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I started getting sick yesterday, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to come over for piano. I told my mom that I keep getting sick, so I blame Wisconsin. And she told me my body is building up an immune system for this new area… IDK. I just really don’t want to be sick anymore. πŸ˜₯
      (Yes I read it all. I love long comments! πŸ™‚ )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

