Book Reviews, Christian, Christian Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Uncategorized, Young Adult

Veiled Rose by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

This is the second book review I have posted on my blog and I hope to post more! 🙂

9463960

~Buy on Amazon~

~Shelf it on Goodreads~


“Rose Red trusts no one with her secret. She hides in the forest, her face veiled in rags, shunning the company of all save her old father and her nanny goat. Her life is bleak and lonely.

Until she meets a privileged young man sent to spend his summer in the mountains. Headstrong young Leo startles everyone by befriending Rose Red, and together they begin searching for the monster rumored to be stalking these lands.

But the hunt, which began as a game, holds greater risk than either imagines. Soon both are forced to test their trust in each other as a far more terrifying scourge puts their entire land at risk.


Book: Veiled Rose (Tales of Goldstone Wood #2)

Author: Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Rating: 1 Star/DNF


To be honest, I couldn’t finish this book.
First, I really didn’t understand a thing that was going on. Of course, this is the second book so I should read the first one at some point. Second, I’m a little disappointed in Bethany House. I thought that they only published good books. I suppose you could think that I’m expecting books that I will like for sure from them, considering that they’re a christian company, but that’s not the case. I haven’t seen a thing in Veiled Rose that made me feel like this was christian fiction. It really seemed secular, in my opinion. I decided to check out/research the author… it never mentioned her being a christian so now I’m questioning if the book was even aimed at Christians at all. Perhaps Bethany House only published it because it was supposedly “clean”? I even checked out reviews to see what everyone else thought of it… and it’s apparently dark, frightening, etc. I wasn’t aware of this, and that, in my opinion, is not god-honoring… plus, in my heart, I felt like God was telling me not to read this, so I listened after I finished chapter 4.
The book in general: Like I said, I didn’t understand a thing. To me, Leo is a boring character… at least from the point I stopped at. I honestly did enjoy chapter 4, about Rose Red. Otherwise… 😛

The book did seem to possibly include magical elements, since dragons and stuff were discussed, but I’m not completely certain about that part.

I don’t recommend it, unless you somehow like dark books. I don’t understand how anyone could, but everyone is entitled to their own opinions. 🙂


I’m sorry for the short review, but there wasn’t too much to say about Veiled Rose.

At least this book can finally go back to the library.

~Crystal

This was written in my own words and opinions.

For the categories, I used Goodreads to check what genres the book was listed under.

Leave a Reply

